Trusting a Good God

Psalm 118:1  Give thanks to the Eternal because He is always good.
    He never ceases to be loving and kind. (VOICE)

Trusting God has been a life-long struggle for me. When things are confusing or chaotic or just plain scary, my default state of mind is to distrust that God is actually on my side.

Living with a person who has a brain disorder can be messy, and having control of my environment is impossible. God has been speaking to me lately about trusting Him and His plans for my life. And living with a mentally ill person is part of that plan.

 I love this verse from Psalms because it’s unequivocal in its declaration about God. The words “always” and “never ceases” state plainly that God’s basic nature is one of goodness and love and kindness.

If that’s true – and God’s Word is always true – then I can know without a doubt that whatever He allows into my life will benefit me by helping me grow closer to Him and to develop more of a Christ-like character.

You and I may never understand fully what God is doing, but we can always count on the fact that He will never do anything that contradicts His character. Everything He does is motivated by His love for us. So we can rest in the knowledge that the One in control is perfectly good and loving and kind.

I had a quotation on my desk for years. I don’t know where I originally found it, but when I ran across it again this week, I put it on the wall where I’d see it every day. It’s like a booster shot for my faith.

“When you can’t see His face, trust His heart.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

