Finding Peace

Isaiah 26:3  You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast,
    because they trust in you.

Right now I’m looking out at a lake from the home that my brother owns. The hummingbirds are busy at the feeder, and last night I watched the lightning bugs do theirdance through the trees.

I’m feeling peaceful.

It wasn’t always this way when we went on a trip. Worry about what might or might not be happening at home with my bipolar stepson almost ruined the time that should have been restful. We had, at various times, received phone calls from neighbors and friends and even the police about trouble he was causing.

photo by Archbob

Finally, after many years, my peace has returned and I can enjoy our times away. It’s not that something won’t happen back home, but I’ve learned to leave my anxiety with Jesus and trust Him with whatever happens.

It’s so freeing.

Jesus knows exactly what is going on, and I’ve come to realize that we can weather any storm that might happen because God’s with us in that situation.

Trust isn’t easy to learn, and my hold on it is tenuous at times. But I won’t let my life be held hostage to my fears. God has better things for me to do.

Let Him shoulder your load. He knows and is ultimately in control. His love will hold you tight when you feel like you’re losing it.

Peace. There’s nothing like it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

