Designed by God

Philippians 1:6  I am confident that the Creator, who has begun such a great work among you, will not stop in mid-design but will keep perfecting you until the day Jesus the Anointed, our Liberating King, returns to redeem the world. (VOICE)

Well, how did you do with the challenge I gave you last week, to begin to develop praise as a habit?

It was difficult, wasn’t it? I know it was for me. Habits in my thought life are so ingrained that it takes a long time to change them. Then, of course, there was a test. The first day. I was just about to get angry about something my bipolar stepson did when I remembered my praise experiment.

I turned my thoughts to God and began to thank Him and praise Him. Before you could blink an eye, my attitude changed and my anger was diffused. So all week I was perfectly turned in to God and my mouth and mind were filled with praise.

NOT!!!!

By Saturday I was discouraged. Lord, I prayed, how long is this going to take? When will I ever learn?

I have a coffee mug on my desk that I painted myself that says this:  His Masterpiece Created for His Glory. Here’s the deal. I was trying all week in my own strength to change myself instead of yielding my heart and mind to the working of my Creator.

photo by Derek Ramsey (Ram-Man)

God is in charge of perfecting me. He has promised to keep on perfecting me until He calls me home. It’s kind of like a caterpillar. While in the cocoon it doesn’t look like anything is happening, but all the while inside is a miracle of change called a metamorphosis.

While I’m on earth, I’m in a spiritual cocoon. Unimaginable beauty is being formed in me. God doesn’t stop working on me, as I was reminded this Sunday in one of the songs we sang. Someday I will be finished, a butterfly with wings to fly to my heavenly Father.

In the meantime, I need to be patient because even though it seems like not much progress is being made, God will never set me aside. He promised to complete what He has started.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

