Seeing What We Can’t See

2 Corinthians 4:17-18 You see, the short-lived pains of this life are creating for us an eternal glory that does not compare to anything we know here. So we do not set our sights on the things we can see with our eyes. All of that is fleeting; it will eventually fade away. Instead, we focus on the things we cannot see, which live on and on.

Living with a family member who has a brain disorder, I find myself focusing on the problems too much. Sometimes it’s his refusal to take his medications when he should or to deal with his alcoholism. Sometimes it’s just his attitude toward those at the behavioral facility who are trying to help him.

Some days feel like they last forever. But Paul reassures me that in the grand scheme of things, these “pains” in my life are very short.

photo by Zereshk

I tend to have it backwards in viewing my situation. I see the actions and hear the words of those around me, but fail to see God’s hand in my life and the things in my spirit that He is accomplishing. Life and its problems are temporary. Spiritual aspects of my life are far more permanent, for God is in the business of creating good out of those problems, things that build me up and glorify Him in the process.

Let’s put on our spiritual glasses so we can see beyond the difficulties and distractions of this life into the future beyond life here on earth.

Nothing on earth can compare with what He has waiting for us in eternity.

See what you can’t see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

