My Forever Life

John 11:25-26  I am the resurrection and the source of all life; those who believe in Me will live even in death. Everyone who lives and believes in Me will never truly die. Do you believe this?

My mother died one year and my father the next. They were both 93. When your parents reach their nineties, it seems like since they’ve always been there they always will be there. And then they’re gone.

Their deaths left gaping holes in my heart. Did I grieve? Of course. But underneath my grief – or maybe hovering over my grief – was the knowledge that it wasn’t the end.

They were Christ-followers, and I believe what Jesus said to Martha in the above verse, that if you believe in Him, you never really die. So I’ll see my parents again, along with aunts and uncles and cousins and grandparents and friends who have gone on to be with Jesus.

photo by Jozef Kazimierz “Meaglin” Sokolowski

That’s what Easter is all about. It’s an empty cross and an empty tomb. He took care of our sin on the cross, then He took care of death itself by His resurrection.

Living with a mentally ill family member can be frustrating and discouraging when dealing with a seemingly unending list of problems. On those days I rather envy those who are already enjoying life with Jesus. Someday I will, too.

In the meantime I live with hope. Hope for my stepson’s healing, but also hope because of the preparation this life is providing to prepare me for my forever life.

My forever life with Jesus.

So just as Jesus asked Martha, he asks you, “Do you believe this?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

