Weak But Usable

2 Corinthians 4:7 But this beautiful treasure is contained in us – cracked pots made of earth and clay – so that the transcendent character of this power will be clearly seen as coming from God and not from us.

photo by Einsamer Schutze

Do you see yourself as a beautiful treasure? I have to admit that sometimes I see myself as something less than a treasure. Especially when I haven’t handled things well with my stepson, who has a mental illness – bipolar disorder.

This verse comforts me because it reassures me that God can use me even though I have flaws. Mental illness is a bumpy road, as is life in general. The Apostle Paul goes on to say that we get chips and cracks but aren’t destroyed, and we’re never abandoned by God.

I like to be in control of my life, to make plans, to keep to a schedule, to complete my to-do lists. The problem with that is that God doesn’t always go along with my plans, which seem so well-thought-out but don’t allow for those God-interruptions or, even more important, those corrections He speaks into my spirit. His way is always better. Why is that so hard for me to learn?

My power is weak and flawed. His power shines through when I let Him have control. If I try to do everything on my own, how does that reflect His character?

It all boils down to trust. Do I trust God with my life and with my stepson’s life? Can I quit trying to “fix” circumstances and people and just let God handle it? Is my faith in my own ability or in God’s love and grace?

Embrace your flaws because it’s the only way that God can use you and let others see that it’s Him at work in you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

