Guaranteed Grace

Psalm 30:4-5  Sing, all you who remain faithful! Pour out your hearts to the Eternal with praise and melodies; let grateful music fill the air and bless His name. His wrath, you see, is fleeting, but His grace lasts a lifetime. The deepest pains may linger through the night, but joy greets the soul with the smile of morning.  (VOICE)

Well, here I am again, admitting that too often my pouring out to the Lord takes the form of complaints. But I’m gradually learning that praise and gratitude are the keys to a better state of mind. I’ve been keeping a gratitude journal, and it has made me look for the blessings and graces of God rather than looking too much at my circumstances.

Why does everything look worse at night? So often in the dark hours my mind goes to those troubling things we experience with my mentally ill stepson. I worry about his drinking, his friends, his compliance in taking his meds.

photo by Bigroger27509

But here the Scriptures say that even though things look bleak at night, joy will return in the morning. I’ve found that to be true. In the light of day things don’t seem quite so bad. You see, God’s Word also tells me that God’s grace “lasts a lifetime.”

We recently bought something that had a lifetime guarantee. Even so, it’s only made out of stuff that will never be able to last forever. No so with God’s grace. It has a guarantee that lasts for eternity. And that’s a guarantee you can count on.

I made a pact with myself that when I get those nighttime blues I would “count my blessings” as the old hymn goes. Try it the next time you can’t sleep for thinking of the maze of mental illness you are traveling through.

God’s guaranteed grace will carry you when you feel you can’t make it one more step.

Guaranteed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

