Rescued from Fear

Psalm 34:4  When I needed the Lord, I looked for Him; I called out to Him, and He heard me and responded. He came and rescued me from everything that made me so afraid.  (VOICE)

My stepson was in a full-blown psychotic episode and my husband was out of town. I took the dog and went into the bedroom, closed the door, and sat on the edge of the bathtub. Too frightened to even pray, I said, “Jesus, Jesus,” over and over until I finally heard the front door slam.

photo by Kecko

That was life before my stepson’s diagnosis and medication. He has few episodes now, and when he does, it’s much less severe.

Fear was a constant companion in those days because I never knew what benign comment could send him into mania.

Gradually, I learned something important. Even that prayer of desperation that could find no words was a prayer that God hears and answers. And an even more important thing is that even though He doesn’t always rescue me from a specific problem, He rescues me from crippling fear.

Fear keeps us from doing dangerous things and that’s a good thing. But the kind of fear I experienced clouds the thinking. Extreme fear can be paralyzing. That’s when I need to remember that God is right there in the middle of whatever I’m dealing with. His love and grace are enough to lead me through to the other side.

The kind of fear I let control my life was non-productive, but I learned how to focus on God instead of focusing on the circumstance. I learned how to remind myself that God is sovereign and He will rescue me from my fear.

And so, my friend, when fear seems to crowd in, remember that God has never abandoned you no matter how chaotic it seems. His attention is not dependent upon anything you do or don’t do or can do. Our hope is secure, and He won’t allow you to be overtaken by circumstances. Instead, He can overwhelm you with His love and care just when you need it most.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

