Life in Progress

Psalm 73:28a  But the closer I am to You, my God, the better because life with You is good. (VOICE)

Sometimes life doesn’t seem so good when mental illness invades through the behavior of my stepson’s bipolar struggles.

When I read this verse the other day, I had to ask myself just what it meant by “good.”

It doesn’t mean perfect. It doesn’t mean always smooth sailing. It doesn’t mean God fixes problems in the way I think He should.

Here’s what I think it means as a Christian: Progress.

photo by Andrew Smith

When I look at where we were in the days before he had been diagnosed, I realize how far he’s come. The ups and downs are less severe because he’s on medication. True, there are days when it seems we’ve taken a step backward, but then things improve much more quickly.

I also see how far I’ve come. It’s easier to weather the brief storms, and I more quickly turn to the Lord instead of trying to keep a stiff upper lip in my own strength.

Progress.

Take a look at your own journey. Don’t be so critical of yourself when you think you’ve blown it. My own perspective has changed as I’ve learned to accept God’s grace in those moments. God loves me no matter what. He loves you too, flaws and all.

Progress. That’s what is good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

