A Normal Christian Life

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  Celebrate always, pray constantly, and give thanks to God no matter what circumstances you find yourself in. (This is God’s will for all of you in Jesus the Anointed.)  (VOICE)

Why can’t I just have a normal family?

This was my angry cry to God the first years of my marriage when I found myself living with a stepson who is bipolar.

photo by reebs

photo by reebs

Now I’m really not sure there is such a thing as a “normal” family. We all have our issues, either major or minor. For the Christian the standards for normality are revealed in this verse from Thessalonians. My life as a Christian should be one of praise, prayer, and thanksgiving. And, Paul says, it should be that way no matter what’s going on in my life.

I’m learning how to live like that, mainly through the difficulties of mental illness. God has given me the grace to stand steady in the ups and downs of my stepson’s illness because God is always good, and what He allows in my life, therefore, must be good for me. God can use anything in my life for my growth and for His glory.

One of my teacher friends has a poster in her room that says, “Let’s put the fun back in dysfunctional!” It always made me laugh, but there’s a grain of truth in it. The turbulence we go through may not be fun, but we need to see it in light of the greater picture of what God is doing.

So we may not be perfect yet, but we don’t have to be ashamed when we mess up in our journey. The only time we’ll not be dysfunctional is when we get to heaven.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

