Where Is the Miracle?

Judges 6:13a  [Gideon said,] “If He is with us, then why has all this misfortune come on us? Where are all the miracles that our ancestors told us about?” (VOICE)

“Where is the miracle, God?” That’s what my heart said recently when it felt like my prayers for my bipolar stepson hit the wall. “If you can heal the body, can’t you heal the mind?”

photo by Ian Scott on Flickr

photo by Ian Scott on Flickr

The Bible is full of miracles, but recently I was feeling like Gideon, who was hiding in the winepress to keep his enemies from seeing him. It is the question that has troubled many, both Christians and nonbelievers. If there is a God, why is there suffering?

I’m not a theologian or a Bible scholar, but even those who are can’t answer that question. But that’s okay. Maybe we don’t need that question answered. If we knew all the answers, why would we need faith? Scripture says, “Faith is the assurance of things you have hoped for, the absolute conviction that there are realities you’ve never seen.” (Hebrews 11:1 – VOICE)

God knows everything – past, present, future. He knows things that are far outside of my understanding, realities I can’t see. Does that diminish my faith? Absolutely not.

Here’s what I do know: God loves me. Even if I don’t see my stepson healed this side of heaven, I know that God hears my prayers, and He never gets tired of my asking.

Keep praying, my friend. Every prayer is an opportunity to get closer to God’s heart. And isn’t that where we want to be anyway?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

