Despite All My Emotions

Psalm 42:5  Why am I so overwrought? Why am I so disturbed? Why can’t I just hope in God? Despite all my emotions, I will believe and praise the One Who saves me and is my life.  (VOICE)

“Why did you and Mom have to get divorced? You ruined my life!” My stepson said this, in various versions, in his turbulent years before being diagnosed with a mental illness.

His father might respond, but I generally kept out of that discussion. Instead, I just “stewed in my juices,” as the old saying goes.

photo by Leon Brooks

photo by Leon Brooks

The Psalms are my go-to book of the Bible when I feel distressed because I love how honest David is about his emotional and spiritual state. He had plenty to be distressed about, but once he had voiced his concerns to God – in other words, dumped on Him – he always came back to expressions of how God is powerful and loving and gracious and merciful.

So I’m learning not to believe my emotions, but to believe what God has said to me in the Scriptures. Nothing in my circumstances is more important than the fact that Jesus has died for my sins and that I will live eternally with Him. He is my life, my sustenance, my reason to be joyful.

Don’t be afraid to pour out your feelings to God. Nothing you say will surprise Him, and nothing you say will ever cause Him to abandon your cause.  You’ll never hear Him say, “Okay, that’s enough. Come back and talk to me after you’ve settled down.”

Nope. You can have confidence that He is on your side, He wants you to succeed in life, and He’s fighting your battles for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

