Living with the Holy Spirit

Luke 2:25 While fulfilling these sacred obligations at the temple, they encountered a man in Jerusalem named Simeon. He was a just and pious man, anticipating the liberation of Israel from her troubles. He was a man in touch with the Holy Spirit.  (VOICE)

Don’t you just love Simeon? He wasn’t a preacher or prophet or theologian. Simeon was an ordinary man with an extraordinary relationship with his God. “He was a man in touch with the Holy Spirit.”

I’ve quit making resolutions at the beginning of every year. Somehow they seem to dissolve by the end of January, if not sooner. But this year I’m making an exception.

photo by Effex

photo by Effex

My only desire for this year is that I become a Christ-follower who’s in touch with the Holy Spirit. Do you realize what a difference that can make?

It won’t make everything in my life perfect because I’ll still be subject to all of the ups and downs of living on this planet. What it can do is change the way I see things. When I view my life events through the lens of the Holy Spirit, I can experience the joy and peace that only comes through the realization that God is sovereign and He loves me unconditionally.

So when we’re going through a tough time with our mentally ill family member, we’ll know that God is using that to strengthen our faith and dependence upon Him.

Because sometimes all we can do is hold onto God as He takes us through the rough times.

And that’s the best place to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

