Detours

Galatians 5:9  You know what they say, “Just a little yeast causes all the dough to rise,” so even the slightest detour from the truth will take you to a destination you do not desire.

photo by Matthew Simantov

photo by Matthew Simantov

Before a NASA launch scientists have to be exacting in their calculations.  A small error in figuring the trajectory of a space shot doesn’t matter a few feet from the launch site, but the farther out into space, the bigger the error becomes. The vessel can miss its intended destination by millions of miles.

I loved geometry. (Okay, I’m weird.) Remember that thing about two non-parallel lines that begin at the same point?  No matter how far out those lines go, they will never meet.  Never.

In the above verse, Paul cautions us about the importance of even our small choices.  One small “detour” in our spiritual walk doesn’t seem that bad, but one after another can lead us far from the path God desires for us.

My attitude toward my mentally ill stepson is a good example.  He’ll do some little thing that irritates me. I’ll let my mind dwell on it until something else he does irritates me. Then something else and something else and something else.  Pretty soon even the way he walks into the room irritates me.

You know exactly what I mean.

Here’s the thing: I need to be vigilant to deal with every little negative thought so that it doesn’t snowball into a destination I don’t want.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

