The Wisdom of Seeking Guidance

Proverbs 1:5 Let the wise hear and increase in learning, and the one who understands obtain guidance.

The road through the world of brain disorders is full of twists and turns and unpredictability.  I attempted to navigate them by myself for a while, but I soon realized that it was beyond my ability to go it alone.

NAMI (The National Alliance for Mental Illness) provided extraordinarily helpful information.  However, as a Christian, I was missing an extra dimension of support.

I recently found two resources that are written for believers who are dealing with a mentally ill family member or are struggling with a brain disorder themselves.

The first is the Mental Health Grace Alliance, founded by Joe Padilla and Dr. Matthew Stanford. (www.mentalhealthgracealliance.org)  Joe learned much through his own research of his wife’s illness.  Dr. Stanford works in the field of behavioral neuroscience.  Their organization was founded to help Christians navigate the confluence of mental illness and faith.

The other source is Not a Day Promised, which was started by Julie Brooks after they lost their mentally ill son to suicide, something that happens more often than we would like to think.  (www.notadaypromised.com)

Solomon, who the Bible said was the wisest man on earth, still knew the importance of education and guidance, something I need to remember when I am overwhelmed with circumstances beyond my ability to control.  Especially encouraging is learning from other Christians who are familiar with what I am going through.

photo by Rhoda Baer

photo by Rhoda Baer

Prayer, of course, is indispensable; but there is something deep down in me that needed a human arm around me and a human voice saying, “I’m here for you.  What do you need?”

Don’t isolate yourself.  You are not alone in your journey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

