Yes, He Hears Your Prayers

Psalm 116:2 But He leaned down when I was in trouble and brought His ear close to me.  So long as I have breath, I will call on Him.  (VOICE)

Like a loving parent, my heavenly Father leans down, patiently listening as I pray the same prayer for my bipolar stepson that I have prayed a kabillion times before.

Artwork by Henry Ossawa Tanner

Artwork by Henry Ossawa Tanner

I love this scripture because it is such a sweet picture of our relationship with our Father.

James assures me that God never scolds me for asking for wisdom.  I think He never scolds us for anything we ask that is in line with His will, and asking for wisdom or for physical healing or for many other things is good.

That doesn’t mean that He will answer the prayer immediately or in whatever way I think He should.  Sometimes He has a greater plan in mind than my comfort.

I’ll never pray that I learn to cook like Julia Child.  It won’t happen.  Trust me on this.

But I keep praying for my stepson because I think that is part of the reason God put me in this family.  God has promised to hear me; and, to tell the truth, the more I pray for him, the more God is changing me.

Even now He is bending down, maybe patting me on the head, and listening because He loves me.

He loves you, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

