Raise Your Focus

Matthew 14:28-30 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”   “Come,” Jesus replied.  Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”   (NIV)

When I took driver’s education in high school, we initially spent time driving around in town.  When the instructor thought we were ready, he took us out to the highway to teach us to get up to speed and hold it there for a certain amount of time.

photo by Kprateek88

photo by Kprateek88

I was petrified.  After all, we didn’t drive that fast in town.  Once I was behind the wheel, I kept my eyes on those lines in the center and at the side of the road, trying very hard to keep the car between those lines.

Finally, the instructor said to me, “Quit looking at the road right in front of the car.  Raise your eyes and aim for a spot way ahead on the road.  Raise your focus to that spot.”

I never forgot that piece of advice, and it helped me navigate the highway easily.

When Jesus asked Peter to walk toward him on the rough waters, Peter did fine as long as he looked at Jesus.  But he dropped his eyes and began to look at the waves and lost his focus.

Sometimes it is easy to look down at my feet, at the swirling circumstances of life with a mentally ill person.  I get my eyes off of Jesus and feel like I’m drowning.  My focus is on the wrong spot.

Lifting my eyes off of the circumstances will keep me between the boundaries God has laid out for my life, and He will guide me through the rough spots.

So when you get caught up in looking at the circumstances at your feet, raise your focus.  Jesus is already ahead of you in the road beckoning you to come where there is safety in Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

