Gaining Strength in the Journey

Psalm 84:5-7 Blessed are those who make You their strength, for they treasure every step of the journey.  On their way through the valley of Baca, they stop and dig wells to collect the refreshing spring water, and the early rains fill the pools.  They journey from place to place, gaining strength along the way, until they meet God in Zion.  (VOICE)

Too often I have tried to travel my life journey in my own strength.  But the Bible says that my journey will be blessed by relying on God, not myself.  When I allow God to be my strength, I can treasure, or value, every step because I am moving toward Christ-likeness.

One translation calls Baca the Valley of Weeping.  Anyone who has a family member with a brain disorder (my stepson is bipolar) knows what that valley is like.  However, the verse says that the people “stop and dig wells to collect the refreshing spring water.”

One of the wells I dug early on was to collect information from NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness).  Feeling the need to find out as much as I could about his disorder, I attended one of their support groups as well as their Family to Family class.  Their website has a wealth of information (nami.org).

Traditional_Well-Kerala

MANOJTV at English Wikipedia

Most recently I dug another well at a website called Psych Central (http://psychcentral.com/about/link-to-psych-central/) which has information about various brain disorders and treatments as well as news from current research and noted experts.  People with personal knowledge of the struggle with brain disorders share their experiences on some of the many blogs on the website.

As a Christian, my greatest source of refreshment is from my relationship with Christ.  I can pray, I can read the Word.  Along the way God provides springs in my life that can restore my faith and help me to continue my journey.

As I do that I gain strength in my spirit and the encouragement I need to keep moving.

God never leaves us alone in the wilderness without resources.  He provides everything we need, and as we persevere, we will eventually leave the Valley of Weeping, stronger and more secure in His love and grace.  His presence and His Word refresh and renew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

