Anchored in Jesus

Hebrews 6:18-19  So God has given us both His promise and His oath.  These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie.  Therefore, we who have fled to Him for refuge can take new courage, for we can hold on to His promise with confidence.  This confidence is like a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.  It leads us through the curtain of heaven into God’s inner sanctuary.   (New Living Translation)

I went tubing on the Salt River with some friends a few years ago.  The feeling of being carried along by the swift current was relaxing until we got to the end where we had to steer our tubes onto a beach.

I was fighting a losing battle with the strong current, having visions of being carried down the river and ending up in Mexico or someplace.  Suddenly I saw two young men who were out in the water helping people get to shore.  (Thank you, Jesus!)

Have you ever felt that your life is like tubing on a river?  I have.  Sometimes my emotions are like a strong current carrying me in directions I had no intention of going.  The ease with which I can drift into anger is astounding.  My stepson can say or do something – not even a major something – and before I know it I allow the current to carry me along.

I will say that I am getting quicker at reminding myself that it is his mental illness acting or speaking, not him.

Gary Halvorson Oregon State Archives

Gary Halvorson
Oregon State Archives

In her book Undone, Michele Cushatt says, “A boat anchored to itself is not anchored at all.”  Anchors are good.  They keep us fixed to that spot where we want to be.  I want to be anchored to Christ.  When I try to anchor myself to my own efforts or feelings, I’ll never land on the beach.

So when I see my life is out of control going down that river, I just pray, “Lord, forgive me for giving in to my emotions.  You are my anchor, the steadying influence in my life.  I choose not to go further down this river.  Help me to see my stepson through your eyes, not through the lens of my own feelings.”

The peace I feel when I release that anger lets me know that my anchor is in the right place.  That peace I find can seep out into the atmosphere of my home.

It reminds me of a sign I saw on a real estate office:  This is home.  This is where awesomeness happens.

With our lives anchored in Jesus, our homes can be where awesomeness happens.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

