Wisdom or “Unwisdom”

James 1:5 If you don’t have all the wisdom needed for this journey, then all you have to do is ask God for it; and God will grant all that you need.  He gives lavishly and never scolds you for asking.

I’m sure that I’m not the only one who has had an epiphany after an argument that goes something like this: “Boy, I wish I had said. . .”

Come on.  I know you have.  It’s part of the sin nature, you know.  Wanting to have the last word, wanting to speak “truth” into someone else’s life, wanting to make them feel ashamed of their actions.  It was quite common for me in what I call “the pre-medication days” of my mentally ill stepson.  Even today at times I find myself falling into that toxic thinking.

God has never audibly spoken to me, but I heard clearly in my spirit these words:  You need to quit trying to be his Holy Spirit.

You see, I was trying to solve a problem using my own resources.  For some odd reason I thought I could do God a favor by handling this on my own.

While I was floundering, James was telling me that the only way I could do well on this journey was to rely on God’s wisdom and not my own.  And the amazing thing is that all I need to do is ask.  And even more amazing is that God’s resources are given “lavishly,” and He doesn’t scold me for asking, even if it is for the millionth time.

photo by Jeffery Goldman

photo by Jeffery Goldman

So not asking is sort of like eating a peanut butter sandwich while sitting outside of a Golden Corral Buffet.

God wants me to ask, and He deeply desires to give me whatever I need for the journey because He loves me.

And He loves you, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

