Grace and Peace

Psalm 23:5-6 You spread out a table before me, provisions in the midst of attack from my enemies; You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing, fragrant oil, filling my cup again and again with Your grace.  Certainly Your faithful protection and loving provision will pursue me where I go, always, everywhere.  I will always be with the Eternal, in Your house forever.  (VOICE)

First, let me say that the enemy is not our relative with the brain disorder.  Our real enemy is spiritual.  That enemy, Satan, would have us beaten down with guilt, anger, depression, hopelessness.  But we have Someone greater on our side.

I love Psalm 23, and I especially love this translation of verses 5 and 6 in the Voice.  If anyone needs her cup filled over and over again with grace, it’s me.  Grace is an umbrella in a storm.  It’s a bandage over a self-inflicted wound.  It’s an overhaul when I’ve blown my love engine.

The other thing I love in this verse is the idea that God pursues me.  His desire is to protect and to provide, but sometimes I am running in the opposite direction with my anger and pain.  Then I see this:  He will only let me run so far before He once again captures me with His love.

He pursues me wherever I go, whatever state I am in, whatever circumstance is holding me captive.

photo by Silar

photo by Silar

Because His love is unconditional, I don’t have to be perfect or be perfectly in control.  He cares for all my needs, whether it is in the hard place of dealing with mental illness or in a peaceful place of knowing that He is with me always no matter what, with that table spread before me full of everything that I need in the midst of it all.

What joy that brings when I get a glimpse of eternity that makes everything here in my life pale in comparison.  Would that I could be in that peaceful place constantly.  But difficulties make the peaceful place all the more sweet, and I know that when troubles come, peace is just down the road.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

