God’s Good Plans

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Eternal, “plans for peace, not evil, to give you a future and hope – never forget that.”  (VOICE)

Plans are good.  We need them for a variety of things: menus, college funds, vacations, doctors’ appointments.  Life would be confusing and chaotic without them.

God’s plans are ever better.  They can protect us from the effects of evil, and they can give us a reason to hope for the days ahead.

photo by Stacey Wittig

photo by Stacey Wittig

The roller-coaster ride of living with a person with mental illness is exhausting.  Often my mind was not on God’s plans for my future.  I just wanted to get through this day, through this hour.  In fact, my hope that things would ever change was at a low point every time he had another psychotic episode.

I got really good at thinking up plans for his life.  You know what I mean.  “If only he would deal with things in a healthier way.”  “If only he would eat and exercise more, he would do better.”  “He needs to read his Bible more so that God can heal him.”

But one day I realized that God not only wanted the best for him, but also wanted the best for me, which included a stronger dependency upon God and a more Christ-like character.  God is with me in the middle of a crisis.  He is with me during the chaos of a psychotic episode.  God wanted me to learn to have peace during the storm.

God’s plans are not always accomplished through the means which I would like, but they are always better than my plans.  And the results of His plans are beyond anything my own plans could create.

In the words of the little chorus:  God is good all the time; all the time God is good.

If He is always good, then His plans are always good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

