What’s Next, God?

Joshua 1:9 This is My command:  be strong and courageous.  Never be afraid or discouraged because I am your God, the Eternal One, and I will remain with you wherever you go.  (VOICE)

photo by Roger McLassus

When the people of Israel were getting ready to go into the promised land, they had no idea what might be waiting for them.  Formidable enemies, heavily fortified cities, geographical obstacles – all of these possibilities and more were making them fearful.  Joshua, their leader, knew that he needed to encourage them to keep their eyes on God.

At times, the future prospects of life with a mentally ill person living in our home, with all of the neediness and unpredictability, were as frightening to me as what was currently happening.

The fear of the unknown can be like a net keeping you from moving forward in your walk with God.

But Joshua’s words are as true today as they were for the Israelites.  You see, God is not bound by time.  Whatever will happen in the future, God already knows because He is there waiting for us, as well as being beside us right now.

He is in the past, present, and future all at the same time.  I don’t know how that works, but He’s God and I’m not.

I only know the truth of the Scriptures that He loves me and He promises always to be with me.  That helps me remain confident of the fact that my “what’s next” is in very capable hands.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

