But, God, I’m Afraid!

Isaiah 41:10 So don’t be afraid.  I am here, with you; don’t be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, help you.  I am here with My right hand to make right and to hold you up.  (VOICE)

In his pre-medicated year, he sometimes had episodes that were violent, going into rages for no evident reason.  At times we felt we were walking on eggshells, not knowing what innocuous word spoken by one of us would trigger a psychotic episode.  Fear was a constant companion for me.

image by Ezra Katz

image by Ezra Katz    

 

 

Once he was diagnosed, I made it my mission to educate myself about his illness.  I read every book I could find about mental illness, and I attended a NAMI (National Alliance for Mental Illness) support group for family and friends of mentally ill people.  I also went through their free 12-week Family to Family class.  Taking the mystery out of what was going on helped tremendously.

However, the episodes still triggered fear in me.

Have you ever noticed how many times in the Bible God tells His people not to be afraid? So apparently I am not the only one who struggles with fear.  God’s chosen people, His special children, often had to contend with that emotion.

Take courage.  He sees.  He knows.  And He acts on our behalf.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

